We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.

Upload to Verge3D Network, How it Works

Home Forums General Questions Upload to Verge3D Network, How it Works

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #43011
    jdhutchinson
    Customer

    Hi, I’ve been wondering a few times how specifically the upload to V3D Network works.

    For example, if I upload the project, do I have to upload it again and get a new link if something in the project changes?

    Also, how can I find the link that has been created without uploading it again?

    Or, is uploading to V3D Network not an intensive operation, meaning I should not be concerned if I am uploading a project many times.

    • This topic was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by jdhutchinson.
    #43025
    xeon
    Customer

    I am sure someone at Soft8Soft will have a better explanation but from what I have experienced, it seems to be a basic FTP upload.

    It takes the files from you specified project folder and uploads them to your account using the same file structure. Once a project is created the “link” remains the same regardless of the number of changes or reuploads you make. Its not until the project is deleted and then re-uploaded do you get a new URL.

    I have not found any way to update the folder structure or a single file without re-uploading the entire project. So for me, if there is a change I have to reupload the project to see the changes.

    You do not need to reupload to get the link. On the left side of the App Manager is a cloud icon. This will get you to your online directory. You can locate the HTML of your specific project and then in your browser right click and open link. Then you can copy the link.

    If you are super concerned, you can create a webserver on your local machine and test everything locally and then you dont have to worry about uploading to Soft8Soft. However, the concept with V3D or webgl in general is the file sizes should be rather small so the overall time to upload should be short. So upload as frequently as you like and don’t worry about it.

    Xeon
    Route 66 Digital
    Interactive Solutions

    #43028

    @xeon
    Great explanation! I have nothing further to add :good:

    Verge3D’s Tech Chief
    FB | Twitter | VK

    #43029
    jdhutchinson
    Customer

    You can locate the HTML of your specific project and then in your browser right click and open link. Then you can copy the link.

    Aha! Perfect! I had got into the network directory but not realised the hot link was used here. I was still accessing the local copy after uploading, wondering why I only got the upload link for that split second.

    Okay, so if I understand correctly, any files that I ‘replace’ or ‘overwrite’, should see changes reflected in the link I have uploaded?

    It was no concern over being secure etc, purely just not fully understanding if I was using the feature correctly! Thanks Xeon. :good:

    #43037
    GlifTek
    Customer

    Good info here, guys.
    Curious about a few points…
    What is the timeframe option about?
    (On mobile now, forgot the term) to be able to re-upload?

    Also, have the settings changed as to not upload the any bulky backups from your puzzle editor visual logic xml files?

    Or should people backup and/or delete them before uploading since they’re useless and hog space when not local.
    Thanks!
    :good:

    #43045

    Hi all,


    @gliftek
    If you mean “Verge3D Network cache age”, this affects the time the browser considers your assets valid. For example if you specify 60 minutes, then all uploads within this timeframe won’t appear when you reload your app in the browser.

    As for backups, we don’t upload them to the Network in the recent versions of Verge3D.

    Verge3D’s Tech Chief
    FB | Twitter | VK

    #43141
    jdhutchinson
    Customer

    Sometimes I find the behaviour is just buggy. I re-uploaded a project to the network, the link still goes to the old version of the project. The local host version is still correct though.

    Is this something separate to the caching that was discussed?

    #43146
    xeon
    Customer

    If you re-upload your project without changing the name of your project, the URL will not change.
    You need to be sure to dump your cache before checking the page again or use incognito mode in chrome to ensure you are getting a refreshed display.

    Xeon
    Route 66 Digital
    Interactive Solutions

    #43236
    jdhutchinson
    Customer

    Yeah that’s the before I saw. I’m keeping the project and therefore the cd url the same.

    I’ll remember to try incognito next time I am not seeing changes reflected.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.